HRH Prince Albert of Monaco to join celebration of AIPS Journalists on the Podium

RIO DE JANEIRO, August 7, 2016 – They have reported from more than 1640 Winter and Summer Olympic Games and will be honoured by their peers and by a host of Olympic Champions including HRH Prince Albert ll of Monaco.

HRH Prince Albert ll represented Monaco in the bobsleigh at five consecutive Winter Olympics. He was Monaco’s flag bearer at the 1988, 1994, and 1998 Winter Olympics. HRH Prince Albert has been a member of the International Olympic Committee since 1985, and his maternal grandfather, John B. Kelly, Sr., and maternal uncle, John B. Kelly, Jr., were both Summer Olympic medal winners inrowing.

The International Sports Press Association (AIPS) will celebrate Olympic journalism at a special ceremony at the Tokyo 2020 Japan House at the Cidade des Artes in the heart of the Barra da Tijuca Zone, and will see more than 100 top journalists presented with a limited edition Olympic Torch replica produced by AIPS Worldwide Gold Partner, Honav.

Italian veteran Giuliano Bevilacqua of The World of Sports Agency has covered an incredible 25 Olympic Games (13 Summer and 12 Winter), not far behind is Peter Frei of Sportinformation Si, Switzerland with 24 Games (12 Summer and 12 Winter). Alain Luzenfichter, IOC Honorary Member and formerly of L’Equipe, and German freelance journalist Harmut Scherzer have 21 Games each and Neil Wilson, of Geat Britain’s Daily Mail has 20 (11 Summer and 9 Winter).

In the Japan House ceremony, journalists will be the ones on the podium for the third time, after AIPS successfully hosted two prevous such events at the London 2012 Summer Olympic Games and the 2014 Sochi Winter Games. Olympism and the dedication to its coverage will be celebrated as the media world embraces Rio, and looks to Tokyo, the host of the 2020 Summer Games.

Olympians will be honouring those who have reported on them as HRH Prince Albert ll joins the star-studded lineup five-time Olympic champion Michael Johnson, local Brazilian football legend Cafu, South African golf great Gary Player, one of Great Britain’s most succesfull Olympians track cyclist Victoria Pendleton.

IOC Vice-president Nawal el Moutawakel who was the first female Muslim athlete to win an Olympic gold medal will also be present to honour the decade-long coverage of the Olympic movement, along a number of IOC members including President of United World Wrestling Nenad Lalovic, head of the International Triathlon Union Marisol Casado, Vice-president of IAAF and pole vault legend Sergej Bubka, and Donna de Varona, who has experienced the games both as an athlete and a journalist.

At 13 years old de Varona was the youngest member of the 1960 Olympic swim team and by 1964 Olympics she had become the best known female swimmer in the world , setting a total of 18 world record. De Varona worked as a journalist for US networks ANC and NBC and was the very first female sportscaster in the USA.

The list of Journalists who have covered 10 or more Olympic Games to be honoured in Rio

Giuliano Bevilacqua The World of Sports Agency Italy 25

Peter A. Frei Sportinformation Switzerland 24

David Miller Times, Daily Great Britain 24

Giovanni Merlo La Gazzetta dello Sport Italy 22

Alain Luzenfichter Honorary Member France 21

Harmut Scherzer Freelance Germany 21

John Powers Boston Globe US 20

Neil Wilson Daily Mail Great Britain 20

Donna De Varona IOC USA 19

Robert Maksimov L.Atletika Russia 19

Heinz Prueller Kronen Zeitung Austria 19

Philipe Hersh USA 18

Petz Lahure Tageblatt Luxemburg 18

Volker Kluge Journal of Olympic History Germany 18

Christine Brennan USA Today USA 17

Soenar Chamid Soenar Chamid Sportfotografie 17

Tim Donnelly AP USA 17

Denis Paquin AP USA 17

Koji Aoki Aflo Japan Japan 17

Angela Bern AFP France 16

Astolfo Cagnacci AFP France 16

Brian Cazeneuve USA magazine Sports Illustrated US 16

Cam Cole Vancouver Sun Canada 16

Niklas Henrichson YLE/ Finnish Broadcasting Company Finland 16

Jurgen Magh Sport-Informations-Dienst (SID) Germany 16

E.-Friedbert Raulf freelance Germany 16

Steve Simmons Toronto Sun Canada 16

Wlodzimierz SZARANOWICZ Poland 16

Arthur Thill ATP press & photo agency Germany 16

Michael Berger ORF SPORT-AKTUELL Austria 15

Alexander CHERNYKH Russian Photo News Agency Russia 15

Vladimir Drbohlav Czech Television Czech Republic 15

Sergey Kivrin Russia 15

Lembitu Kuuse ERR Estonia 15

Jim Litke AP USA 15

Lee Martin Getty Images Great Britain 15

Karen Rosen US 15

Andreas Schirmer DPA International Germany 15

Herbert Slavík WWA photo – photo agency Czech Republic 15

Dariusz SZPAKOWSKI Poland 15

Stefano Vegliani Mediaset Italy 15

Mats Wennerholm Aftonbladet Sweden 15

Steve Wilson AP France 15

Hiro Yakushi ATP photo agency/Germany Japan 15

Rivo Saarna Receiving the award for Lembito Kuuse 15

Charles E. Belle National Newspaper Publishers Asscioation USA 14

Raf Casert AP BELGIUM 14

Christopher Clarey, The New York Times USA 14

Tim Dahlberg AP USA 14

Paloma del Río TVE Spain 14

Richard Demak Sport Illustrated USA 14

Rosie DiManno Toronto Star Canada 14

Marek JOZWIK Poland 14

Gary Kemper IOC USA 14

Adrian Warner Reuters, BBC UK 14

Francois Xavier-Marit 14

Vincent Amalvy AFP 13

Luuk Blijboom De Telegraaf The Netherlands 13

Franco Bragagna RAI Italy 13

Clive Brunskill Getty Images Germany 13

Charles Camenzuli Sport Extra Malta 13

Tengiz Gachechiladze Daily Sports Newspaper “LELO” 13

John Goodbody Sunday Times Great Britain 13

Beth Harris AP USA 13

Ed Hula Around the Rings US 13

Duncan Mackay Inside the Games Great Britain 13

Jugder Otgontsagaan MSPU Mongolia 13

Lev Rossoshik Russia 13

Bengt Skott SESR Sweden 13

Jonh Volkers De Volkskrant Netherlands 13

Thorsten vom Wege ARD Germany 13


Emanuela Audisio La Repubblica Italy 12

John Bagratuni DPA Internationa Germany 12

Georgi Banov 24 Chasa Bulgaria 12

Olaf Brockmann Neue Kronen-Zeitung Austria 12

Nicolae Buceatchi NOC Moldova Press Officer Moldova 12

Camillo Cametti Il Mondo del Nuoto Italy 12

Ian Chadband Olympic News Service UK 12

Per-Kristian Eriksen NTB Norway 12

Andrey Golovanov Russia 12

Nicole Jeffery The Australian Australia 12

Paul Newberry AP USA 12

Maris Rimenis Latvian TV Latvia 12

Henk Stouwdam NRC Handelsblad The Netherlands 12

Ivana Vaccari RAI Italy 12

Wakako Yuki The Yomiuri Shimbun Japan 12

Mattia Chiusano La Repubblica Italy 12

Jakub Bazant Czech Tv Czech Republic 11

Lars Becker freelance Germany 11

Dainis Caune Latvia 11

Michal Dusik Czech Television Czech Republic 11

Espen Hartvig NTB Norway 11

Jiang Hong XINHUA NEWS AGENCY China 11

Sheila S. Hula Around the Rings USA 11

Warren Levinson AP USA 11

Jacquelin Magnay The Australian Australia 11

Janusz PINDERA Poland 11

Dmitry Tarasov Podmoskovie Russia 11

Esat Yilmaer Turkey 11

Youssef Berjaoui Assafir NP Lebanon 10

Steve Buffery Toronto Sun/Post Media Canada 10

Andrew Cowie Colorsport UK 10

David Finch Getty Images Great Britain 10

David Harrison ONS UK 10

Xu Jiren Xinhua News Agency China 10

Kumi Kinohara freelance Japan 10

Anatolijs Kreipans Latvian TV Latvia 10

Tim Layden Sport Illustrated USA 10

Martin Masafret Swiss Television SRF Switzerland 10


Chultem Otgonbaatar MSPU Mongolia 10

Marek Rudzinski Poland 10

Marc Ventouillac L’Equipe France 10

Nicholas Wolaver Olympic Rings And Other Things 10

Igor Zolotarev Fooball-Hockey JU, Sporivnaya Panorama Russia 10

Sergio Dovio Dovio Producciones Argentina 10

Alessandro Trovati Pentaphoto Italy 10
Franco Fava Il Corriere della Sera Italy 10

One comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *