SuperSport United and Orlando Pirates will meet in the Nedbank Cup final for the second successive year when they clash at Moses Mabhida Stadium on 24 June 2017, kick-off at 20h15.

SuperSport, the defending champions and four-time winners of this competition, have overcome Royal Eagles, KwaDukuza United, Kaizer Chiefs and Chippa United to reach this season-ending finale.

Pirates, who last won the Nedbank Cup in 2014 (their eighth title in the competition), have beaten EC Bees, Free State Stars, Bloemfontein Celtic and Golden Arrows en route to the showpiece match.

While SuperSport will be hoping to give Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter a great send off by winning the Nedbank Cup (which would be a record third success for him, having also won the competition in 2013 with Kaizer Chiefs and last year with United), Pirates will be eyeing revenge against a team which they have failed to beat in six matches across the last two seasons.

Matsatsantsa not only beat the Buccaneers 3-2 in last year’s Nedbank Cup final, they also handed Pirates a club-record 6-1 defeat in a league match back in November 2016 and beat them 1-0 later the same month in the semifinal of the Telkom Knockout.

The teams have met in no less than 20 cup matches, with Pirates claiming nine outright wins (plus two by penalties) compared to six (plus two by penalties) for United. Yet it is the Tshwane team who have dominated of late, winning the teams’ last four cup meetings.

Across all competitions, 72 matches between these teams have produced 31 wins for the Buccaneers, 23 for Matsatsantsa and 18 draws. The teams’ most recent meeting was a league clash in early March in Soweto which ended 1-1, with Thembinkosi Lorch and Thabo Mnyamane scoring for Pirates and SuperSport respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *