Big Match Feature: Chiefs v Pirates

Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates will lock horns once again in an epic battle when they meet for the 2017 Carling Black Label Champion Cup at FNB Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Kick-off is at 3:30pm.

The annual pre-season tournament signals the start of the 2017/18 campaign as the two biggest clubs in the country meet for the seventh time in this unique fixture.

What makes it so special is the fact that the fans of both teams have picked the starting XI for their respective sides by casting votes via SMS for the past month.

The fans can further influence the game on matchday by forcing a substitution. Again this is done on the day of the game by voting via SMS for the player they would like to introduce after the 55th minute.

Starting XI

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Mphahlele, Tower, Gordinho, Masilela, Ekstein, Katsande, Maluleka, Lebese, Parker, Paez.

Orlando Pirates: Mpontshane, Matlaba, Jele, Gcaba, Phungwayo, Makola, Manyisa, Sarr, Memela, Gabuza, Ndoro.



Year Result Scorers

2011 Pirates 0-0 Chiefs (Pirates won 4-3 on penalties)

2012 Pirates 1-1 Chiefs (Pirates won 5-4 on penalties) McCarthy; Nale

2013 Chiefs 1-0 Pirates Majoro

2014 Pirates 0-0 Chiefs (Pirates won 6-5 on penalties)

2015 Pirates 1-1 Chiefs (Pirates won 4-3 on penalties) Myeni; Letsholonyane

2016 Chiefs 2-0 Pirates Mathoho, Macha


Season Result Scorers

2012/13 Pirates 1-1 Chiefs Mbesuma; Majoro

2012/13 Chiefs 0-0 Pirates

2013/14 Chiefs 1-1 Pirates Nkhatha; Erasmus

2013/14 Pirates 0-1 Chiefs Katsande

2014/15 Pirates 0-2 Chiefs Tshabalala, Mthembu

2014/15 Chiefs 0-0 Pirates

2015/16 Chiefs 1-3 Pirates Mathoho; Sarr, Gcaba, Gabuza

2015/16 Pirates 1-1 Chiefs Gabuza; Katsande

2016/17 Pirates 0-0 Chiefs

2016/17 Chiefs 1-1 Pirates Molangoane; Masilela (own goal)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *