The roll call for the Total African Nations Championship (CHAN) Kenya is all but one team shy, with 14 qualified teams confirming their places alongside host Kenya at the weekend.

The remaining slot will be decided on Tuesday, 22 August 2017 in Conakry when Guinea hosts Senegal in the second leg of the West A Zone final round.

The qualification was without surprises with holders DR Congo the biggest casualty, denied by neighbours, Congo. A 1-1 draw in Kinshasa ensured that the Leopards, also winners of the maiden edition in 2009 in Cote d’Ivoire miss out on the finals for the first time since its inception.

Another casualty on the road is Ghana, edged by northern neighbous Burkina Faso, after a 2-1 loss in the return in Kumasi saw ‘Les Etalons’ progressed 4-3 on aggregate.

Last year’s losing finalists, Mali, failed to make it four in a row after a shocking lone goal loss to Mauritania saw the latter advance 3-2 on aggregate.

Equatorial Guinea and Namibia are the only newcomers amongst the qualified teams just as host Kenya for the final tournament scheduled for 12 January to 4 February 2018.

Qualified teams

Host: Kenya

Central Zone: Cameroon, Congo, Equatorial Guinea

Central-East Zone: Sudan, Uganda

North Zone: Libya, Morocco

South Zone: Angola, Namibia, Zambia

West A Zone: Mauritania, Guinea or Senegal

West B Zone: Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Nigeria 

Former winners: Libya (2014)

Former finalist: Angola (2011)

Previous appearances

3: Côte d’Ivoire (2009, 2011, 2016), Uganda (2011, 2014, 2016)

2: Angola (2011, 2016), Nigeria (2014, 2016), Zambia (2009, 2016), Cameroon (2011, 2016), Libya (2009, 2014)

1: Burkina Faso (2014), Congo (2014), Mauritania (2014), Sudan (2011)

First participation in 2018

Equatorial Guinea, Kenya, Namibia


Edition 1st 2nd 3rd
2009 DR Congo Ghana Zambia
2011 Tunisia Angola Sudan
2014 Libya Ghana Nigeria
2016 DR Congo Mali Cote d’Ivoire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *