By Owolabi Abiola

The Nigerian Football Federation (NFF) have revealed the Super Eagles squad will play Zambia next month.Arsenal forward Alex Iwobi, who did not feature in Nigeria’s two Group B matches against Cameroon earlier this month, has been called up.

The two nations will lock horns in the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification Group B match at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium in Uyo, Nigeria on Saturday, 7 October.Nigeria senior players such as John Obi Mikel, Victor Moses and Ahmed Musa have all been listed in the 23-man squad.

Ifeanyi Ifeanyi and Afeez Aremu are the two home-based players, who were called up by Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr ahead of the crucial clash which is a determinant of Nigeria topping their group.If the Super Eagles defeat Zambia’s Chipolopolo, they will qualify for next year’s finals which are scheduled to be hosted by Russia.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Chippa United, South Africa); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (FC IfeanyiUbah); Ayodele Ajiboye (Plateau United FC)


William Ekong (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Abdullahi Shehu (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Leon Balogun (FSV Mainz 05, Germany); Elderson Echiejile (Sivasspor FC, Turkey); Uche Agbo (Standard Liege, Belgium); Chidozie Awaziem (Nantes FC, France); Olaoluwa Aina (Hull City, England)


Mikel John Obi (Tianjin Teda, China); Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor FC, Turkey); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (CD Feirense, Portugal); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel); Mikel Agu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey)


Ahmed Musa (Leicester City, England); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (KAA Gent, Belgium); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Odion Ighalo (Chang Chun-Yatai, China); Victor Moses (Chelsea FC, England); Anthony Nwakaeme (Hapoel Be’er Sheva, Israel)

STANDBY: Dele Alampasu (Cesarense FC, Portugal); Tyronne Ebuehi (ADO Den Haag, The Netherlands); Aaron Samuel (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Afeez Aremu (Akwa United); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Akwa United)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *