Nigeria: CAF Award – NFF Boss Laments Moses’ Snub

Nigeria Football Association president, Amaju Pinnick said he was at a loss with the exclusion of Super Eagles striker and Chelsea defender, Victor Moses from the short list of three for the 2017 Africa Football player of the year award.

Egypt’s and Liverpool striker, Mohammed Salah, Pierre Emerick Aubameyang of Borussia Dortmund and Gabon and Sadio Mane of Senegal and Liverpool made the final list for the awards schedule for January in Accra, Ghana.

“I’m not happy because I feel that Moses should be part of the last three,” Pinnick told Citi Sports.

“The only reason why [Riyad] Mahrez won the award last year was because of what he did with Leicester [City].

 “And Moses helped Chelsea to win the league; played in the FA Cup final; and helped Nigeria qualify for the World Cup. So I wonder why.

“I’m surprised. Maybe we should look at other criteria other than coaches who already have their mindset about who they want to vote for,” Pinnick added.

“Tell me what Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang did last year to deserve a place ahead of Moses. Aubameyang should not be on that list. He’s struggling with [Borussia] Dortmund.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *