Gambia: SJAG to Award Sports Personalities on April 27

By Alieu Ceesay,

Secretary General, SJAG 

Deserving past and present sports personalities are going to be awarded and celebrated by the Sports Journalists’ Association of The Gambia (SJAG).

The Association will hold its 9th edition of the National Sports Awards and Gala Night on Friday, 27th April 2018 at the Djembeh Hotel.

The awards have over the years been attended by hundreds of people from within and outside the country.

Speaking during a press briefing on Tuesday ahead of the event, Alieu Ceesay, Secretary General of SJAG said preparations are are at an advanced stage and they are looking forward to a successful of event.

The Awards night, according to SG Alieu Ceesay, deserve the support of all Gambians.

Ceesay said the nominations for the different categories were opened and Sports journalists did sent in the names of their nominees.

The Association have in the past awarded many sports personalities, such as three times CAF Best Referee Winner, Papa Gassama.

Musa Sise, President of SJAG who also doubles as Chairman of the Awards Committee said the Association is going award, the Best Local based athlete, Best foreign based athlete, Best coach of the year, Best referee of the year, Best team of the year, Sports personality of the year, Best female coach of the year, and best female athlete of the year.

According to him, there would SJAG President’s Award to deserving individuals, awards to veterans and a special award to wrestling as a sport.

Namory Trawally, Treasurer of SJAG explains explains that US$10, 000 is the budget for the awards, while calling on institutions and companies to come on board and support SJAG.

The following are the categories and nominees for the year under review. 

Foreign Based Athlete 

1- Baboucarr Jarra (Gaston Berger University Volleyball)

2- Bubacarr Sanneh (AC Horsens/ FC Midtylland)

3- Bubacarr Trawally (Yanbian/ Guizhou Hengfeng)

Local Based Athlete 

1- Mustapha Drammeh  (Former Brikama United) 

2- Lamin Ceesay Boy Balla (Jabang Club Mbollo)

3- Saikouba Ceesay (GAF)

Team of the year 

1- GAF Men’s football team 

2- YMCA Female Basketball Team 

3- Interior Female Football Team 

4- National Wrestling Team to Ecowas 2017 Wrestling competition

Best Coach of the year

1- Ebou Jarra (GAF)

2- Foday Singateh (Female YMCA Basketball Team)

3- Mariama Sowe (Interior Female Football Team)

4- Sulayman Bah (Wrestling Ecowas Team 2017)

Best Referee of the year 

1- Isatou Touray (Football)

2- Malick Mbye (Basketball)

3- Ousman Njie (Volleyball)

Best Female Athlete 

1- Ola Buwaro (Athlete)

2- Adama Tamba (Red Scorpions Football Team)

3- Yassin Jal Mboob (YMCA Basketball)

Female Coach of the year 

1- Mariama Sowe (Interior Football Club)

2- Mariama Sallah (Athletics Coach)

3- Haddy Sanneh (Red Scorpions)


Special Award

Wrestling as a sport


Honor List

Hon MC Cham

Hon Ousainou Darboe

Abdoulie Ndure

Ma Lamin Badjie

Ndow Njie

Hon Omar Amadou Jallow

Binta Daffeh

Badou Mbenga

The late Solomon Cole

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *