CAF announces age cheats at CECAFA zonal AFCON U 17 qualifiers in Tanzania

by Shafi’i Mohyaddin Abokar, CECAFA

Cairo, August 13, 2018 – CAF issued the list of age-cheats at this year’s U-17 AFCON qualifiers in Tanzania prior to the kick off of the event at the National Stadium in Dar Es Salaam on at 2pm last Saturday.

After the release of the MRI tests, players from Djibouti, Ethiopia and Rwanda were all declared eligible for the tournament while Kenya and Uganda were the most affected with each of them having three players declared ineligible for the tournament due to age cheating.

On the other hand hosts Tanzania had two players disqualified from the tournament, while Burundi, South Sudan and Sudan each had one player disqualified due to age cheat. Here is the list of the players declared ineligible for the competition after the MRI test results were released:

Intwari Abdoul (Burundi) Maxwell Mullili (Kenya) Lesley Otieno Owino (Kenya) Abdulmalik Hussein Abdalla (Kenya) Simon Pitia Alberto (South Sudan) Gamel K Abdou Kamal (Sudan) Mtoo Jafary (Tanzania) Lenox Fred Chande (Tanzania) Oluka Oluka George (Uganda) Kafumbe Joseph (Uganda) Elvis Ngonde (Uganda).

The key players in the disqualified list are Mtoo Jafary (Tanzania) who was the top scorer and the best player at the CECAFA U 17 tournament in Burundi in April this year, and Kenya’s top goalkeeper Maxwell Mullili, while Sudan’s captain Gamel K Abdou Kamal is also is dismissed from the tournament.

The competition which runs from 11-26 August is supported by CAF and UEFA.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *