Nigerian Sports Award records over 7.5 million votes across all sports categories

LAGOS, November 14, 2018 – The Nigerian Sports Award has announced a record entry of over 7.5 million votes from the general public for all the sports categories in this year’s edition which ceremony comes up Friday 16 November 2018 at Eko Hotel Victoria Island Lagos.

A statement from the organizers of Nigeria’s most prestigious and longest running sports award said that this was the highest vote ever received by the Panel in the 7 year history of the award. According to the Chairman of award Panel, Dr. Kweku Tandoh , there was remarkable improvement in all categories and this was a fitting confirmation that Nigerians are beginning to show an inspiring interest in honoring our sporting heroes and heroines by voting for the sport men/women of their choice via the platforms provided by the Sports Award.

The Panel met in Lagos for two days and the list of award categories evaluated includes: Footballer of the Year, Team Sports Person of the Year, Track & Field Star of the Year, Sports Governor of the Year, Sports Administrator of the Year. Other award categories include Racket Sports Person of the Year, Basketball Player of the Year, Para Sports Person of the Year, Team of the Year, Discovery of the Year, Wrestler of the Year, Coach of the Year, Sportswoman of the Year.

Executive Director of the Awards, Mr. Kayode Idowu noted that all is set for the landmark 7th edition ceremony which will feature a heavy dose of star musical performances and a glittering spread of celebrated sports men and women as well as distinguished captains of industries and other stakeholders. “We are happy to say that the stage is set to host the seventh edition of the Nigerian Sports Award. We are highly elated and inspired by the quality of dignitaries who have not only confirmed to be part of it but are already in Lagos for the award to witness this year’s edition of the coveted award”.

The Nigerian Sports Award is the only Nigerian awards dedicated to recognising the achievements of our sports men and women, both present and past that have shone brilliantly in the sporting world and women, both present and past that have shone brilliantly in the sporting world and will be broadcast live on Supersports, terrestrial TV and online streaming from 6.00pm.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *