Nostalgic Mercy Tagoe draws motivation from Robert Champroux Stadium in Abidjan

Lawrencia Nyamekye Adjei, AIPS Young Reporter, Ghana
ACCRA, MAY 7, 2019 – February 2018 in Ivory Coast, at the Robert Champroux Stadium in Abidjan, Janet Egyir’s 2nd minute strike shot the Black Queens onto the seat of champions. They became the first winners of the WAFU Zone ‘B’ Women’s Championship, while Mercy Tagoe Quarcoo became the first female coach to win a trophy with the Queens.

The annual tournament is upon them again. This year, Coach Quarcoo called a relatively young team in her bid to bring back the trophy to Ghana. She dropped the experienced duo of Patricia Mantey and Nana Ama Asantewaa, who have been manning the goalpost of the team for almost a decade. Gaining her debut call up was Black Maidens skipper Abdullai Mukarama.

Drawing strength and motivation from all sources to win her first game, a nostalgic Mercy Tagoe flashes back to the finals against Coťe D’Ivoire last year. She remembers the atmosphere, the fans and the excitement the Ghanaians showed at the Robert Champroux Stadium. According to her, ”when we got to the stadium to have our first training session, the place reminded us of what happened the last time. We were just picturing where the Ghanaian community were standing, praising, singing and giving us motivation. This she describes as enough motivation for the tournament.

The Black Queens are in Group A with hosts Coťe D’Ivoire, Togo and Senegal. Nigeria, Burkina Faso, Niger and Mali will battle it out in Group B. They start their campaign against Senegal on Wednesday May 8, 2019.

Below are the 20 players who will be representing the Black Queens.

Dumehasi Fafali, Azume Adams, Barikisu Isshaku

Janet Nana Ama Egyir, Gladays Amfobea, Justice Tweneboaa, Ellen Coleman,
Anatasia Akyaa, Blessing Agbomazie, Rita Okyere

Grace Asantewaa, Diana Weige, Juliet Acheampong, Grace Animah, Evelyn Badu, Linda Addai

Mavis Owusu, Alice Kusi, Abdulai Mukarama, Akalachiba Ayieyam Jane

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *