Ethiopian Sport Journalists Association elects a whole new leadership

ADDIS ABABA, August 12, 2019 – The Ethiopian Sport Journalists Association (ESJA) elected a whole new leadership at its Extraordinary elective General Assembly held on Saturday 10th August at the Ethiopia Hotel in Addis Ababa.

Due to frequent resignations of previous executive committee members for personal reasons ESJA decided to proceed with a full scale new election.

Niway Yimer, an editor at the state owned Ethiopian Broadcasting Corporation, was elected as the new president of the association, becoming Yonas Teshome’s successor.

Omna Taddele, a freelancer and correspondent for various international outlets and Abiy Wendifraw, a writer and co-host at a local radio show, became Vice President and Secretary General of the association respectively, replacing Hana Gebresilassie and Haileegziabher Adhanom.

Alemseged Seifu, Eyob Shibabaw, Yonas Azeze and Konjit Teshome/Tsion Zewudu joined the other newly elected executive committee members of the association.

“I will work very hard to bring unity between our members and to get the profession develop” Neway said after he took the presidency.

Meanwhile, ESJA’s General Assembly adopted the Amharic version of AIPS’s Professional Code of Ethics and forwarded some clauses to amend the statutes of the association.

ESJA also created a new arrangement called, Performance Audit Committee which will oversee the plans and performances of the Ex-Co and report it back to the General Assembly. Its members are Mensur Abdulkeni, Fasil Redi & Tiruneh Kassa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *