AIPS Africa president Mitchell Obi re-elected unopposed

NAIROBI, December 19, 2017 – Mitchell Obi has been re-elected unopposed alongside first Vice President Mourad Moutaoukil at the AIPS Africa Congress in Nairobi, Kenya on Monday, December 18.

Incumbent Guinea’s Amadou Dioulde Diallo retained his post while Kenya’s Chris Mbaisi, Sudan’s Mufti Mohammed Saeed and Ethiopia’s Yonas Teshome Getaneh were voted in as the other vice presidents.

Diallo and outgoing Vice President Kabulo Nuanna Kabulo from the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), Getaneh tied with 12 votes each in the first round for a re run.

Mbaisi and Saeed who managed 19 and 15 votes respectively were outright winners and didn’t go to the second round.

In the second round of voting, Diallo was re-elected with 18 votes as Getaneh got 13 to be Vice Presidents while Kabulo was deposed with 12 votes.

Incumbent Cameroon’s Emmanuel Gustave Samnick failed to defend the secretary general’s post losing 13-9 to Ghana’s William Dodzi Ezah.

Angola’s Anthonio Goncalves Ferreira (Angola) and Mohammed Slimane Ganoua (Niger) were elected unopposed for the two deputy secretary general’s posts.

Felix Sohounde Peperipe from Benin dropped his ambitions for the vice chairman’s post by withdrawing to be re-elected unopposed as treasurer.

Senegal’s Abdoulaye Thiam got a soft landing after losing the vice president’s race to be elected as an executive member together with Mali’s Oumar Babba Traore. The other two members will be elected during the AIPS congress in Antalya, Turkey.

Burundi’s Liliane Nshirimana casts her vote during the AIPS Africa elections in Nairobi. (Photo: Fliss Mohamed)

The Congress unanimously agreed to amend its constitution for an expanded executive committee, meaning the executive will co-op two other members.The amendments are meant to make the continental body be all inclusive by ensuring that all the regions and gender are well represented.

The amendments provide for four Vice Presidents drawn from the continent’s regions which have been zoned into North, South, West together with East and Central regions which have been merged to form one zone.

In the other amendment, the delegates passed for two deputy secretary generals’ posts where one will be in charge of Administration and Membership, and the other in charge of Training, Communication and Marketing.

A total of 22 countries voted in the elections on Monday.


Mitchell Obi (Nigeria)

First Vice President: Mourad Moutaoukil (Morocco)

Vice President:

Chris Mbaisi Kenya 19

Mufti Mohammed Saeed (Sudan) 15

Amadou Dioulde Diallo (Guinea) 18

Yonas Teshome Getaneh (Ethiopia) 13

Secretary General

William Dodzi Ezah (Ghana) 13

Deputy Secretary General

Anthonio Goncalves Ferreira (Angola)

Mohammed Slimane Ganoua (Niger)


Felix Sohounde Peperipe (Benin) Unopposed

Executive Members

Oumar Babba Traore (Mali)

Abdoulaye Thiam (Senegal)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *