Best of 2017: Jose Altuve and Yulimar Rojas, athletes of the year in Venezuela

CARACAS, December 26, 2017 – Houston Astros baseman José Altuve and track and field athlete Yulimar Rojas won the athletes of the year award for a second year running following a vote by the Venezuelan Sports Journalists Circle – CPD.

In the other categories, Rafael Dudamel and his U-20 football team were chosen as coach and team of the year respectively. Basketball club Guaros de Lara were yet again the professional team of the year and Ludy Correa won the plaudits as the standout Paralympic athlete.

Altuve triumphed in the individual mens award, winning 100% of the votes, to cap an extraordinary year after a memorable season in the Major League Baseball with the Houston Astros. He was again the batting champion in the league and won the prize of Most Valuable Player in the MLB. His remarkable achievements and great season didnt go unnoticed, picking up the Sports Illustrated Personality of the Year and Player of the Year in the Players Choice Award, Sporting News and Baseball America.

Rojas, meanwhile, will forever be remembered as the first Venezuelan to win a gold medal at the IAAF World Championships, demonstrating her triple jump prowess. She was the youngest ever triple jump gold medallist in World Championships history. As a result, she won the IAAF Award of Female Rising Star. Athletics racked up the awards organised by CPD with the Venezuelan Athletics Federation, FVA, winning in the category sports entity of the year and its president Wilfredys León receiving the leader of the year award.

Football didnt miss out. Rafael Dudamel won coach of the year for guiding his Venezuelan youngsters to the final of the U-20 FIFA World Cup in South Korea. ‘La Vinotinto were defeated in the final by England 1-0, but their remarkable campaign and silver medal were enough to triumph as team of the year.

A hundred and ten sports journalists voted in the awards organised by CPD. The award was first organised in 1944. This years vote marked the 74th edition of the awards.


1944 – 2016

2016 José Altuve (Baseball) | Yulimar Rojas (Athletics)

2015 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Stefany Hernández (BMX)

2014 José Altuve (Baseball) | Andreína Pinto (Swimming)

2013 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Robeilys Hairstyle (Athletics)

2012 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Rubén Limardo (Fencing)

2011 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Daniela Larreal (Cycling)

2010 Felix Hernández Baseball) | Greivis Vásquez (Basketball)

2009 Felix Hernandez (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2008 Francisco Rodríguez (Baseball) | Dalia Contreras (Taekwondo)

2007 Magglio Ordóñez (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2006 Johán Santana (Baseball) | Albert Subirats (Swimming)

2005 José Rujano (Cycling) | Carlos Coste (Apnea)

2004 Johán Santana (Baseball) | Adriana Carmona (Taekwondo)

2003 Miguel Cabrera (Baseball) | Ricardo Monasterio (Swimming)

2002 Magglio Ordóñez (Baseball) | Gretty Lugo (Powerlifting)

2001 Freddy García (Baseball) | Ernardo Gómez (Volleyball)

2000 Leo Gámez (Boxing) | Jerimar Gutiérrez (Fencing)

1999 Edgardo Alfonzo (Baseball) | Gilberto González (Triathlon)

1998 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball) | Gilberto González (Triathlon)

1997 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball)

1996 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball)

1995 Francisco Sánchez (Swimming)

1994 Eloy Rojas (Boxing)

1993 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball)

1992 Omar Vizquel (Baseball)

1991 Wilson Álvarez (Baseball)

1990 Leonardo Sierra (Cycling)

1989 Luis Salazar (Baseball)

1988 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball)

1987 Andrés Galarraga (Baseball)

1986 Carlos Lavado (Motorcycling)

1985 Oswaldo Guillén (Baseball)

1984 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1983 Carlos Lavado (Motorcycling)

1982 Alberto Mestre (Swimming)

1981 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1980 Antonio Armas (Baseball)

1979 Marlin Noriega (Tennis)

1978 Betulio González (Boxing)

1977 Luis “Lumumba” Was (Boxing)

1976 Pedro Gamarro (Boxing)

1975 Jhonny Cecotto (Motorcycling)

1974 David Concepción (Baseball)

1973 Betulio González (Boxing) | María Carrasco (Water Skiing)

1972 Gerardo Vera (Swimming)

1971 Vicente Paúl Rondón (Boxing)

1970 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1969 Ramón Muñoz (Golf)

1968 Francisco “Morochito” Rodríguez (Boxing)

1967 Gisela Vidal (Athletics)

1966 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1965 Gisela Vidal (Athletics)

1964 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1963 Arquímedes Herrera (Athletics)

1962 Rafael Romero (Athletics)

1961 Carlos Plaza (Shooting)

1960 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1959 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1958 Enrique Tovar (Boxing)

1957 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1956 Luis Aparicio (Baseball)

1955 Antonio De Michelli (Cycling)

1954 Brígido Iriarte (Athletics)

1953 Alfonso Chico” Carrasquel (Baseball)

1952 Asnoldo Devonish (Athletics)

1951 Alfonso Chico” Carrasquel (Baseball)

1950 José Alberto Díaz (Boxing)

1949 Alfonso Chico” Carrasquel (Baseball)

1948 Vidal López (Baseball)

1947 José Alberto Díaz (Boxing)

1946 Antonio Briñez (Baseball)

1945 Víctor Paticas” Fernández (Cycling)

1944 Antonio Briñez (Baseball)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *