Shakib Al Hasan Named Bangladesh Sportsman Of The Year

DHAKA, January 8, 2017 – Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA) on January 6, 2017 named world famed all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan as the best sportsman of the year 2017.

Bangladesh Test and T20 captain Shakib was choosen ahead of shooter Arnab Shahrar Ladif, who won silver in the 10m air rifle event at the Asian Airgun Championship and young footballer Jafar Iqbal.

“It was a very good year at a personal and team level. I think my best batting in last year was against New Zealand and bowling against Australia. I hope to continue my performance in future.” – Sakib Al Hasan said.

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza was adjudged the most popular player of the year to win the “Popular Choice Award” by direct vote of the sports fans defeating shortlisted Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah Riyad and footballer Zafar Iqbal. Shakib scored 665 runs and grabbed 29 wickets, including one double century against New Zealand and a 10-wicket haul against Australia, in the Test cricket last year in additional to making a century and a 224-run partnership with Mahmudullah Riyad in the Champions Trophy, Bangladesh reached in semifinal.

The Kool-BSPA Sports Awards-2017, a regular event of Bangladesh Sports Press Association (BSPA), was ceremonially handed over at a function at the ballroom of Pan Pacific Sonargaon Hotel in the capital. BSPA arranged the gala Kool-BSPA Sports Award ceremony under auspices of Square Toiletries Limited.

Commerce Minister Tofail Ahmed MP was the chief guest and he announced the names of the best sportsmen of the year. Later, he handed over the trophy & certificate among the outstanding sports personalities in 14 categories for their brilliant performances in the year of 2017. Chaired by BSPA President Mustafa Mamun, the function also attended by AIPS Asian Region Vice-president Saba Nayeken and Head of Marketing of Square Toiletries Malik Mohammad Sayeed.

A good number of sports personalities were present on the occasion. In this colorful event there were many more attractive. Professional football player and current Bangladesh champion Abahani Limited footballer Wali foysal sang a song which was one of attraction of the event. Also Bangladesh Sports institute (BKSP) gymnast team showed an eye catching performance. Football Freestyler Mudabbir shown his skill.

Apart from Shakib and Mashrafe, 12 sports personalities received the best player awards in their respective disciplines of sports. Also BSPA honored Robi as a sponsor company.

Kool-BSPA Sports Award 2017 winners are: Shakib Al Hasan (sportsman of the year), Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Popular Choice Award), Shakib Al Hasan, (Cricket), Zafar Iqbal (Football), Enamul Hossain Razib (Chess), Sonam Sultana Soma (Table Tennis), Arnab Sharar Ladif (Shooting), Junaina Ahmed (Swimming), Zahir Raihan (Athletics), Mohammad Salahuddin (Cricket Coach), Mahfuza Akhter Kiron (Football Organiser), Mofiz Uddin (Football personality at grassroots level), Robi Axiata Limited (Sponsor), Salam Murshedy and Badal Roy (Special Honor Football).

BSPA, the country’s oldest organization for sports journalists and writers, introduced the awards as far back as 1964, after two years of establishment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *