UEFA announces record prize money for Euro 2020

NYON, February 26, 2018 – Record prize money for UEFA EURO 2020 and record grants for the development of the game in Europe were announced at the 42nd UEFA Ordinary Congress today in Bratislava, Slovakia, as UEFA’s 55 member associations were informed of the decisions taken by the UEFA Executive Committee on the eve of the congress.

The HatTrick V solidarity and development programme has been earmarked to receive €775m in its next four-year cycle, from 2020-2024. This represents an increase of almost 30% from the €600m available for HatTrick IV (2016-2020). Each association will therefore be able to receive up to €14.1m over four years. The programme has supported UEFA member associations in implementing education and development programmes, as well as financing football infrastructure – helping to build pitches, stadiums, training centres and headquarter offices. Since its creation in 2004, HatTrick has invested €1.8bn in European football.

A substantial increase in the amount distributed to the teams participating in the final tournament of UEFA EURO 2020 was also approved by the UEFA Executive Committee. The 24 national teams will share a total of €371m compared to the €301m distributed at UEFA EURO 2016 in France.

Details of distribution are as follows:

· All 24 teams will receive a participating fee of €9.25m.

· During the group phase there are also performance bonuses of €1.5m for a win and €750,000 for a draw.

· Once UEFA EURO 2020 enters its knockout phase, there are no more performance bonuses. Instead, the teams participating in the round of 16 will receive €2m, the eight quarter-finalists will receive an additional payment of €3.25m. The financial reward for reaching the semi-finals is an extra payment of €5m.

· Regarding the final at Wembley in London, the 2020 European champions will receive €10m while there will be a reward of €7m for the runners-up.

· This means that, if the champions have also won all three of their group matches, the total prize money they earn will amount to €34m, compared to a maximum of €27m in 2016.

In other events occurring at the 42nd UEFA Ordinary Congress, Juan Luis Larrea Sarobe (Spain) was elected to the UEFA Executive Committee for a one-year term, whereas Sándor Csányi (Hungary) was elected FIFA vice-president for a one-year term, both being elected by acclamation. Following the election of Sándor Csányi, the UEFA Executive Committee decided to appoint Fernando Gomes to replace him as a member of the FIFA Council until the 2019 UEFA Congress.

Lars-Christer Olsson was ratified as the representative of the European Professional Football Leagues on the UEFA Executive Committee for a term lasting until the 2021 UEFA electoral Congress.

The application for membership of the Jersey Football Association was rejected by the UEFA Congress.

Finally, the UEFA Congress approved the 2016/17 Report of the UEFA President and the Executive Committee; the 2016/17 report of the UEFA Administration; the 2016/17 financial statements and the 2018/19 budget; as well as several amendments to the UEFA Statutes.

The next meeting of the UEFA Executive Committee will take place on 24 May 2018 in Kyiv, whereas the next UEFA Congress will take place in Rome on 7 February 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *