Togo: Sports writers’ sapphire jubilee

By Kodjo

The sports writers association of Togo (AJST) is 45 years old this year, after its creation on March 1 in 1973.
At this occasion, the Board of the Sports writers association gave itself the duty to Thank all those who    worked hard for the sake. In a press release on 1st March, the AJST Board took the opportunity to honor the initiators.
” The AJST board expresses its acknowledgement to all pathfinders and elders whose solidarity, confidence and  advice allow  to keep the association on the good way and to enable the radiancy of togolese sports’ press in Africa and worldwide” said the press release.
The AJST board has all the same saluted the good will as well as the sense of sacrifice of late member, especially “those who were involved in the daily management of the association thought their presence in thé staff”.
As a sports writers association, AJST aims at promoting sporots’ journalism, defending press freedom and protecting interests of sports’ journalists. It was created in 1973 due to the leadership of Messan Gnamey, one of the pathfinders of UJSA.
Mana Palanga, Hans Masro, Noel Tadegnon and EKPE AIMÉ are former presidents. Sylvestre GOUNOUBOU is the crurent president.
Various activities are scheduled alongside the year for the jubilee celebration. Sports’ journalism awards, launching of Friday Press School and an international conference on freedom of press are some of these activities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *