SWAG Volta General Secretary wins Best Sports Journalist Award

Tilda Acorlor receives award from Lt. Col. B.B Pantua, Commanding officer of 66 Artillery Regiment. (Photo by Jones Anlima)
ACCRA, October 8, 2019 – A budding voice in the Volta region. An enviable career at young age in a male-dominated setting. Just five years in and Tilda Acorlor is a force to reckon with. Highlighting the need to drop racism, bribery and bad sportsmanship in her feature story “Don’t Drop that Litter”, the General Secretary of Volta Branch’s Sports Writers Association of Ghana, for the 3rd time running, wins aGhana Journalists Association’s award for the Volta region.

The award ceremony, which was held under the theme “Environmental Cleanliness, Media as Vanguard”, saw media practitioners in the Volta and Oti region awarded for works in education, health, sanitation/environment, sports, agriculture, economics/business, disability, child protection and tourism.

The Volta Star Radio’s producer and presenter, who won the previous two editions of the award, makes it three with an article on sports and sanitation, “Don’t Drop that Litter but Drop that Litter”. A feature story that enjoins sportsmen to be aware that sports hygiene and sanitation plays an important role in preventing diseases from dangerous germs that can cause infections and illness to sports athletes.

Speaking after receiving her award she expressed her delight for emerging as the winner for the third time and dedicated the award to her mom and dad. “I’m so much grateful for winning this award for the third time, and I have to thank my mom and dad who allowed me to pursue my dreams in a male dominated field. My aim as a sports journalist is to use sports as a tool for development in my community.”

List of all the winners

1. Sanitation – Maxwell Awumah, Ghana News Agency

2. Education – Harrison Belle, The Lake News

3. Health – Fred Quame Asare, Joy News

4. Economic/Business – Mary Anani, Graphic

5. Child Right Protection –  Chriatiana Ativie, Beyond FM

6. Tourism – Randy Edudzi Ahadzi, V1TV

7. Morning Show – Volta Star Radio

8. Sports – Tilda Acorlor, Volta Star Radio

9. Disability – Kormi Seshie, V1TV

10. Agriculture – Fred Duhoe

11. Most Promising Journalist – Saviour Amenyedzi, Jubilee Radio

12. Journalist of the Year, 2019 – Benjamin Aklama, Citi FM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *